Featured Artist: Debbie Malloy

I recently stumbled across an Etsy Shop named “Wugglyees”.  Before I even saw the name, however I saw this:  White Czech Glass Button Flower Fly Brooch. I fell in love! Unfortunately, I can’t purchase everything I want.  Otherwise, Wugglyees would be a near empty shop!

The shop owner, Debbie, and I are following one another on twitter (@PoetessWug2).  I’ve gotten to know Debbie a bit and find her very interested in helping fellow Etsy shops.  If you want to see a great selection of items available on Etsy without having to do all the searching, Debbie is a great twitterer to follow!

When I read Debbie’s profile on Etsy, I thought she would be the perfect artist to kick-off my ‘Featured Artist’ post here at Teresa’s Desk.  Here are a few questions that I asked her.  If you have more questions, I’m sure she will be happy to talk to you on Etsy or Twitter.  Her Etsy shop link is below, as well as the link to her book of poetry.

Etsy Shop:  www.wuglyees.etsy.com

Book of Poetry: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33081816

***************************************************************

> What crafts do you engage in when creating?

I crochet like a mad woman most of the time! To finish a lot of my pieces though, I also have to do some sewing (Buttons and gem dangles, and so forth).  Occasionally I do some cross-stitching, knitting, …and whatever else  I can get my fingers into…for finishing my work. I also do latch-hooking, and I write…mostly poetry!

> How long have you been crafting?

I have been crocheting for about 40 years, and knitting for about 30…As for writing, I’ve done that since I was old enough to write, I think! The writing started with a personal diary that I kept every year, and advanced to writing down everything I had for dinner at night and rhyming it!…All the way up to writing my thoughts and feelings on everything that happened to, or around, me… Oh, the paper I have used up over the years!!!

> Who taught you?

I tried to get people to teach me to knit and crochet, but people…I found out the hard way…can be very impatient! So, I bought a “How To Crochet” book, with pictures of hand illustrations, and taught myself!…I was inspired to write because I needed someone to talk to! My childhood was a story just waiting to be written about! Anyone that reads my book of poetry will see what I mean!

> Why do you create?

I crochet as a way to express myself! I am a girl who likes lots of different things, but I don’t like to waste my time! My shop carries that thought with it’s crocheted necklaces, brooches, scarves, hats, pocketbooks, WHEW!…men’s boutonnières, pillows, a personally designed bracelet that I call a ‘Hand Sandal’, shawl, and Poetry!…And remnants of these projects also become embellishments and interestingly funky key chains!

> What have been your favorite projects?

The book of poetry that I have in my shop right now, because I chose the design for the cover and chose a sampling of poems to include from the more than 200 poems I have written down…It was very interesting for me to decide what part of ‘who I am’ to include, and choosing the layout…As for crochet projects, my Ugly Wuglyee Bear, as crazy as it made me to crochet it, was another favorite project. Favorite…and LAST! The last bear this crocheter will crochet! The creation of him, in many ways, is the reason I have my Wuglyees shop though!

> Are you a professional artist/crafter?

I’m not sure if I would “technically” be considered a professional at crocheting or at writing, because I think it has to do with how much money you’ve made at doing it, but I certainly consider myself to be a professional. Sheer years of doing it, and the results of what I’ve created make me so!…Disagree if you like though! LOL

> What resources or assistance would you like to be made available for
> crafting businesses?

I’d like there to be resources and assistance that I’m sure will NEVER happen, like a button to push that takes all the photos of your item, adds a description, and posts it to your site! Then all I would have to do is CROCHET and WRITE! Which is all I want to do anyway!…Oh Yeah, and get somebody to pay me to do that! LOL…If I could have someone else to do promotion for me, that would be great too! I don’t mind showing off what I do…but I don’t like being REQUIRED to do it!!!

> Where do you see yourself/your art/craft business in 5 yrs? 10 yrs?

In 5 years I’d like to see my crocheted necklaces and my hand sandal bracelets being Oooooed and Awed over, and being worn by lots and lots of people who know my brand by name…In 10 years I’d like to see my shop making enough money to support a simple lifestyle for my hubby and me. Both of us off of the road, together…Me crocheting, and him…Whatever he wants!!!

Etsy Shop:  www.wuglyees.etsy.com

Book of Poetry: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33081816

2 thoughts on “Featured Artist: Debbie Malloy

  1. Teresa, I am so honored and humbled that you would go to the trouble to put all of my words and shop links out there for people to get to know. I thank you from the bottom of my heart! It’s a pleasure knowing you, and I hope to get to know you even more in the future!

Leave a Reply

